Thursday, August 7, 2008

#75 - Tuesdays With Morrie


This is a short, simply written book. That being said, it still manages to pack a powerful message. Morrie's words are truly words to live by and I feel like the world would be a better place if more people felt the way Morrie did about life. He was an amazing man and I'm glad someone was able to share his story. This book is the definition of inspirational. Here's a synopsis copied from Barnes and Noble:

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher. Someone older who understood you when you were young and searching, who helped you see the world as a more profound place, and gave you advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.

Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of your mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded, and the world seemed colder. Wouldn't you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you?

Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Knowing he was dying, Morrie visited with Mitch in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college.

Tuesdays With Morrie is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie's lasting gift to the world.


My progress in the 100 Book Challenge so far:

1. An Idiot Girl's Christmas - Laurie Notaro - 142 pages
2. The Missing - Chris Mooney - 360 pages
3. All the Numbers - Judy Merrill Larsen - 269 pages
4. The Quickie - James Patterson & Michael Ledwidge - 274 pages
5. The Darkest Evening of the Year - Dean Koontz - 354 pages
6. Plea of Insanity - Jilliane Hoffman - 598 pages
7. When Madeline Was Young - Jane Hamilton - 274 pages
8. Sunshine - Robin McKinley - 405 pages
9. Spying in High Heels - Gemma Halliday - 318 pages
10. I Am Legend - Richard Matheson - 312 pages
11. New Moon - Stephenie Meyer - 563 pages
12. Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City - Kirsten Miller - 380 pages
13. The Husband - Dean Koontz - 415 pages
14. Kiki Strike: The Empress's Tomb - Kirsten Miller - 369 pages
15. Plum Lucky - Janet Evanovich - 166 pages
16. Blood Rites - Jim Butcher - 372 pages
17. The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox - 245 pages
18. Let the Right One In - John Ajvide Lindqvist - 513 pages
19. The Spellman Files - Lisa Lutz - 368 pages
20. Little Stalker - Jennifer Belle - 333 pages
21. Watchers - Dean Koontz - 352 pages
22. Lost and Found - Carolyn Parkhurst - 289 pages
23. Dead Beat - Jim Butcher - 396 pages
24. Steve & Me - Terri Irwin - 273 pages
25. Bright Lights, Big Ass - Jen Lancaster - 385 pages
26. Curse of the Spellmans - Lisa Lutz - 407 pages
27. Bleeding Kansas - Sara Paretsky - 431 pages
28. Dead Witch Walking - Kim Harrison - 416 pages
29. The Abstinence Teacher - Tom Perrotta - 358 pages
30. The Good Guy - Dean Koontz - 493 pages
31. The Double Bind - Chris Bohjalian - 368 pages
32. Dork Whore - Iris Bahr - 216 pages
33. Eclipse - Stephenie Meyer - 629 pages
34. Monkeewrench - P. J. Tracy - 404 pages
35. Diablerie - Walter Mosley - 180 pages
36. After Dark - Haruki Murakami - 191 pages
37. Remember Me? - Sophie Kinsella - 389 pages
38. The Haunting of Hill House - Shirley Jackson - 246 pages
39. Heart Sick - Chelsea Cain - 324 pages
40. Dearly Devoted Dexter - Jeff Lindsay - 292 pages
41. Ice Trap - Kitty Sewell - 340 pages
42. The Bad Place - Dean Koontz - 381 pages
43. All We Know of Heaven - Jacquelyn Mitchard - 310 pages
44. The Dollmaker - Amanda Stevens - 376 pages
45. Shakespeare's Landlord - Charlaine Harris - 214 pages
46. The Senator's Wife - Sue Miller - 306 pages
47. The Crimson Petal and the White - Michel Faber - 895 pages
48. Dexter in the Dark - Jeff Lindsay - 303 pages
49. Gods Behaving Badly - Marie Phillips - 293 pages
50. Earthly Pleasures - Karen Neches - 311 pages
51. Proven Guilty - Jim Butcher - 406 pages
52. Such a Pretty Fat - Jen Lancaster - 379 pages
53. Obedience - Will Lavender - 287 pages
54. The Fifth Vial - Michael Palmer - 372 pages
55. 2060:The Newton Prophecies - Keith Katsikas - 338 pages
56. The Lace Reader - Brunonia Barry - 392 pages
57. White Night - Jim Butcher - 407 pages
58. Mordred, Bastard Son - Douglas Clegg - 260 pages
59. A Thousand Splendid Suns - Khaled Hosseini - 372 pages
60. Good Omens - Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman - 412 pages
61. The Magician's Nephew - C. S. Lewis - 106 pages
62. The Gunslinger Born - Stephen King, Peter David, Robin Furth, Jae Lee, Richard Isanove - 240 pages
63. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone - J. K. Rowling - 312 pages
64. Curves - Gary Heavin & Carol Colman - 334 pages
65. Outlander - Diana Gabaldon - 850 pages
66. Night - Elie Wiesel - 83 pages
67. What Dreams May Come - Richard Matheson - 278 pages
68. Dragonfly in Amber - Diana Gabaldon - 947 pages
69. Voyager - Diana Gabaldon - 1059 pages
70. Naked - David Sedaris - 291 pages
71. The Secret Garden - Frances Hodgson Burnett - 230 pages
72. Morrigan's Cross - Nora Roberts - 326 pages
73. Big Stone Gap - Adriana Trigiani - 269 pages
74. Memoirs of a Geisha - Arthur Golden - 503 pages
75. Tuesdays With Morrie - Mitch Albom - 192 pages

1 comment:

kelly said...

love your blog! after you reach 100 (and then take a vacation prolly!) i hope you'll consider reading MY book-- perfect for fans of Sue Miller: Standing Still. "An exhilarating debut," said Publishers Weekly in its starred review. Good luck with your challenges!

Kelly Simmons
bykellysimmons.com